Ubuntu 10.10 releases 10/10/2010, according to who?

So, here I sit (currently in Taiwan), awaiting the Ubuntu 10.10 release. Well, I know I am the only one as everyone else is celebrating their independence day (very ironic considering the government just reprimanded students for waving a taiwan flag in taiwan). What I didnt mention is the fact that like any true geek I am on all of the ftp sites and the main site waiting for that special moment that lets you know… 10.10 is here. Really, I dont want 10.10, but today is that illustrious day that we find out why (of all things) we moved the controls for minimize, restore and close to the left hand side of the screen.

Now lets take a raise of hands people, and tell me… is the first thing you do when you re-install or upgrade a new Ubuntu box to move the controls back where they belong? I switch between many OS’s, and I always know where to look to close my windows. Basically when I download 10.10 and boot from the live CD I had better hear angels singing and the earth moving and the illustrious glow from my far improved machine should be so bright that I have to turn reduce my monitor lighting. This is the last straw, I havent looked at community previews or betas because I want to know for myself what possessed these people to screw with my application work-flow.

I have put up with slow releases, applications from 4 years ago running because they dont have time to ‘test’ the new versions, corrupted package managers as they release upgrades, being told that I dont know what I really want in my OS as they continue these far fetched business vision based ideas like the controls on the left side of the screen, and frankly just too much more. I want a kernal that was released in the last year, I want a linux os that I can point my non tech friends to and say look at that, open source can succeed and it needs more support, and most of all I want a release that doesnt leave me twiddling my thumbs until > 18:00 on the release date wondering exactly what time is considered the release time for a global OS.

Most of the world will likely be asleep and waiting for their 10/11 release because the snooty Americans seem to think the world should run on their time zone. I mean, come on Canonical France, you hate those US Bastards where is your ftp update, huh? I know a bottle of wine would calm me down about this issue, and obviously everyone at your office has gone home to smash some grapes and forget about this crap..

AHhh… It is here. It better be good.

I did a new install rather than the live cd. Booted, and ironically the default 10.10 theme is bright enough to make you want to turn down your monitor brightness. The installation continued to copy files while I answered questions. However this install took almost 2x as long as the previous version. But the buck stops here: THERE IS NOTHING IN THE UPPER RIGHT HAND CORNER OF MY WINDOWS . THANK YOU UBUNTU VISIONARIES FOR BEING A PAIN IN THE ASS WHILE AT THE SAME TIME ON THE OTHER SIDE OF YOUR MOUTH PROMISING IT WILL BE USED IN 10.10. NEXT TIME YOU GET A BRIGHT IDEA, I HOPE ITS TO GO WORK FOR MICROSOFT BECAUSE YOU WILL FIT RIGHT IN. TONS OF USELESS WORTHLESS IDEAS, BRILLIANT VISIONS (ONLY TO YOURSELF ANYWAY) AND CONTRARY TO THE REST OF THE COMMUNITIES ADVICE, YOU CONTINUE WITH WHAT YOUR DOING ANYWAY. THATS IT I WILL NEVER INSTALL UBUNTU AGAIN ON ANY MACHINE IN ANY COMPANY I OWN OR WORK FOR UNTIL YOU FIX MY WORK-FLOW. I WILL, OVER TIME, REPLACE EXISTING BOXES WITH MINT OR DEBIAN OR MAYBE FUCKING OS/2. YOU WORTHLESS THOUGHTLESS SACKS OF PRIMEVAL SLUDGE CAN YOU EVEN BOOT THE OS YOUR STEERING DECISIONS FOR? LET ME GUESS, SOME ‘PARTNER’ TOLD YOU THAT SUPPORTING XX VERTICAL WOULD INCREASE YOUR PIPELINE IN MAINTENANCE IF YOU DID XYZ, BUT YOU FOUND YOU WEREN’T ABLE TO COMPLETE XYZ, WHICH CONTRARY TO EVERYONE BUT YOU, SHOULD HAVE BEEN THROWN IN THE WASTEBASKET. LET ME TAKE YOUR DIGITAL DOWNLOAD AND SHOVE IT BACK UP YOUR T1 FIBER BACKBONE.

Oh, by the way, I do like the minor modifications to the button images and menus, it is nice to know someone cared, now go convince numb-nuts to put the icons back by default and use the left side of the screen for his social media ideas (or whatever it happened to be).

Leave a Reply

